WCAG GuideleinesAll NSW Government websites, including school websites, are required to conform to the World Wide Web Consortium’s (W3C) Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0 by the end of 2014.

This is inline with similar Australian Government requirements.

These guidelines are designed to make websites accessible for people with disabilities, and include requirements to:

  • Provide text alternatives for non-text content;
  • Provide captions and other alternatives for multimedia;
  • Create content that can be presented in different ways, including by assistive technologies, without losing meaning;
  • Make it easier for users to see and hear content using various assistive devices.
Government notifications and requirements
Government Policy
Information about the guidelines
Reading Link
Check your website for guideline compatibility
wazmacWeb Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0